I was able to catch a few minutes of PTI for the first time in a long time. Usually work prevents me from being home in time. (Yes, I am typing this from work.) I almost always listen to the audio of the show at work. Tony has been on vacation for what seems like forever. I loved his radio show on ESPN radio and hope that he is planning on starting up a radio show again, even if it is just a reboot of his 3WT show - a local DC station available online.
After that I messed around and played my inaugural game of NCAA 2010 on PS3. The game seems to be basically the same as last year with just the required amount of tweaking. I jumped right to Heisman and dropped 56 on Akron with Penn State. I love the NCAA series. I have two online dynasties I am in with some long distance friends and played close to 20 seasons between them last year. (With 4 national championships under my belt, I ranked in the top 3 of the two dozen or so gamers. Pretty impressive, I know.)
After that it was the usual scanning of last night's Tonight Show with Conan to check out the monologue and first skit. It was from a couple days ago actually...the one with the state quarters. Not that funny. It was an early delete.
My wife was on an Office marathon, Season 2 to be exact, and I gotta say that the show was much funnier back then. It is sweeter now, with a more aw-shucks kinda feel, but back in Season 2 it was meaner, darker, and funnier. I am not saying I don't like it now. It is still Must See TV. In fact this past season rebounded a little with the Michael Scott Paper Company. But I digress...
I watched about 5 Season 2 episodes and they were very re-watchable. The Booze Cruise was a classic (Amy Adams and Rob Riggle guest star). But what I noticed most was how much of an outsider Michael was. How alone he was. And so was Jim, with Roy in his way every time he tried to muster some courage. It made the show a little more awkward, for sure, but that lead to some very funny moments as well (Think Jim's BBQ where Michael wasn't invited).
Finally, I watched So You Think You Can Dance, a show my wife dragged me into kicking and screaming...I think as punishment for making her watch sports. The show isn't terrible. The women are generally hot and there are occasionally some unintentionally funny moments. In comparing it to Idol, it is much nicer. The dancers never talk back to the judges. In fact they dont speak unless directed to. It is encouraging in an outsider-trying-to-make-it-against-all-odds kinda way that you can only get b/c just about all the guys were surely picked on for being dancers. So I put my head down and take one for the team.
BTW I am rooting for Jeanine.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment