I watched two episodes of Mad Men last night and here is what stuck with me - Peggy is where it's at.
She set out to prove Don wrong in the season's second episode. She was not going to be ignored anymore. She was not going to be powerless. She is in control of her destiny. She went to a bar alone, picked up a guy, told him no to sex, and dashed before morning without giving her number. As the night went on she gained more and more confidence. Don was her idol and as far as she had come, he didn't give her or her gender a full share of respect yet. (I think Don actually respects her more than anyone else that works for him...she just has a chip on her shoulder.)
She did the same thing with her co-workers. She smoked pot, drank rum, and realized that there was nothing to fear. She broke on through to the other side. She is in a good place right now and I like it.
As far as Don goes, he gave a nice speech to the MSG guy, the guy in the bar, and his brother-in-law. It doesn't sit well with me that he is mad at Roger. I like these guys as a team, friendly competing and not enemies tolerating each other.
There was also a lot of singing and dancing. Roger in blackface was hilarious and Pete can really cut a rug. Also, Joan with an accordion was a little sad and Paul was a lame Ivy man. It was all so mesmerizing. This show puts me into a trace like state and I like it.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment