This movie is awesome. I am gonna come right out and say it. I have been a fan of Tarantino since day 1. I was a defender of his movies when he got ripped. I get it. He made his post modern opus with Pulp. It was so original and so well written (to this day I think it is the best screenplay to a movie I ever watched) that his street cred was at an all time level.
If you are at all familiar with the legend of Tarantino, he is an unmatched student of films. His post-Pulp movies have all been pitch perfect tributes to the genre. Whether it is blaxploitation and Jackie Brown or B-movie action double features with Grindhouse (specifically Death Proof) or Hong Kong martial arts movies/spaghetti westerns with Kill Bill Vol. 1 & 2. Now comes the Basterds being a tribute to WWII movies, especially German movies.
The movies are made by a guy who loves movies, that much is indisputable. His scenes are made with a reverence that you don't get from almost any other movie. I mean no one is making movies like him. They are not made for you. They are not made to win Oscars. They are made the way a true fan would demand a proper tribute be made.
This particular movie was ten years in the making. Tarantino read Goebbells diary and studied German film making. It was set to be even longer than Kill Bill. Speaking of Kill Bill, KB was written as a diversion from his work on Basterds.
As far as the movie goes, it is about a band of renegade Jewish Americans on a blood thirsty mission of Nazi scalping pitted against the wits of a superb Nazi Jew Hunter. The Jew Hunter is getting mad props for his part, and boy are they well deserved. But, Brad Pitt, as the leader of the Basterds, has gotten mixed reviews. Well I am here to tell you he is exactly what he is supposed to be. Hilarious. I won't give plot points away, but trust me...this must be seen.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment