Tuesday, September 22, 2009

Bored, HIMYM, and the Emmys

Playing catch up last night I watched Mad Men, Bored to Death, the Emmy's (with heavy fast forwarding), and the HIMYM premiere.

The Emmys are great when boiled down to 40 minutes. Boring speech...blip blip blip (me FF'ing)...lame skit...blip blip blip...dead guy montage...you get the idea. NPH was OK. His likability makes you want to like him regardless of how good he actually is. It is such a hard job and almost all of it relies on how likable the host is. As far as the awards go, 30Rock and Mad Men are both awesome shows and deserve all the awards they got. The one award I am most happy with is Ben from Lost. Michael Emerson is Lost. He is the number one reason Lost is Lost and not Heroes.

Bored to Death was everything I wanted it to be. Awkward, kinda funny, very odd, very neurotic. I think I am really going to enjoy this show. Jason Schwartzman is the man and Ted Danson is freaking Sam Malone for crying out loud. A very bored and stoned Sam Malone, but still. I am sold on the show 100%.

The HIMYM premiere was better than expected. I have given up on Ted. He is a prop guy now. Give him a goat, a tattoo, an Indiana Jones getup and he is OK. Otherwise his storylines are FF-able. The key to this season is Barney and Robin. The characters are so great as their insecure alpha types that the danger is there of ruining it by turning them into couples. We don't need two more Teds. So far, so good. I am a little nervous about this show.

No comments:

Post a Comment